Smelly Cartridge Filter

Surf NH

Jun 8, 2022
Hollis, NH
hey folks, newbie here. Pool was completed summer 2021 in NH, cleaning crew closed it last year and the filters were removed, sprayed down with a hose to clean, then dried out and stored in the basement for the winter. No issues, no odor.

This year, pool closed by the crew two days ago, filters sprayed down to clean, they look pretty good, have had them in the sun during the day and in garage at night to dry them out before winter storage. Opened the garage door this morning and it smelled like a chicken coop in there.....it was the wide filter. The tall inner filter didn't smell from what I can see.

This is strange to me, chlorinated water flowing through these filters all summer, they were pulled once mid-summer to spray down but the pressure drop stayed pretty consistent all summer. With 3-4 ppm chlorine all summer on average, you wouldn't think there would be bacteria growth for an odor when they were removed. It appears we have to spray them down with maybe a mixture of bleach and water, let them sit for 20min, then hose them off again to help with the odor.

Is it common to have the filters smell once they're removed?....and if so, what do you all use to clean them and remove the odor? Also, how many years do these filters last before replacement?

Specifics.....39k gallon gunite pool in open field, no trees, very clean. UV/Ozone plus cartridge filters, mine are Sta-rite brand that came with the filtration enclosure.IMG_0176.jpeg

Last edited by a moderator:
Hey Surf and Welcome !!!

I've had these filters for 10 years and they usually stunk upon disassembly. The filters don't stink, the crud they collect does. It always washed off with the hose during cleaning. Maybe there is still crud in the pleats that are mushed together in the big one. Those are difficult to spray out, well, not difficult, but time and patience consuming. 2 things the closing crew probably didn't have alot of.