Middleton, Idaho
Pool Size
Surface
Fiberglass
Chlorine
Salt Water Generator
SWG Type
Hayward Aqua Rite (T-9)
Pool newbie here. We bought our house last October and it came with the pool, it's been a wild learning curve! I'm currently 2 days into SLAM'ing my pool - had cloudy water and what I think was algae starting. Currently, my CYA is about 35ppm (just a titch under the 30ppm line) and FC is 15ppm. We set our SWG to 0% as I wasn't sure how to turn it completely off barring unplugging it - couldn't find documentation anywhere that would say if that was ok. Last night I had FC - 15, CC -.5, CYA -35. This morning's test results - FC -15, CC -1, CYA -35. How is it possible my FC has not dropped? Is my SWG still producing chlorine even though it's set at 0%? At the moment, my pool water is crystal clear (thank you, thank you TFP!!!) but it seems there's still something brewing. I do routinely have a few spiders, bugs and a stray leaf in the pool most mornings but today there was no sign of the poofy dust on the benches or floor of the pool. I realize tester error is a possibility but I'm being vigilant with the process. Do I need to unplug the SWG? Also, I noticed the pool water felt a little 'tacky' as it dried on my skin (I did shower today :LOL:), any thoughts on that???

Welcome to TFP! :wave: With the SWG set to zero, there should be no new chlorine produced. Spiders & bugs aren't hurting anything. Really the main concern is the elevated CC level right now. CCs tend to get oxidized by a good sunny day. Has it been cloudy there, or do you use a cover?