Salt Pool - no Chlorine generation

Apr 28, 2015
herndon, va
Hi,

I have a salt cell pool - I'm not generating chlorine, so I'm shortly going to clean my salt cell (or replace it - it's over 5 years old), the main issue I have is that I've ruptured my Achillies Tendon, so am only just starting to be able to get down the stairs to do this..........

In the meantime, what should me my tactic to maintain Chlorine levels in the pool while the cell isn't generating? I'm a bit of a novice and have only every had the salt cell pool, so have never really needed to add Chlorine manually........

Chrlorine levels are really low - do I add shock once a week? Add Chlorine tablets?

I hope to have a new cell in the next few weeks, so just looking for a 2-3 week solution while the cell is out.

Any advice appreciated.

Rich

How are you testing your water chemistry? What is your CYA?

Use liquid chlorine / bleach. Added daily. Base it on the non-SWCG table in [FC/CYA][/FC/CYA]. Use Target Level for your CYA.

Use PoolMath to determine how much bleach / LC you will need each day. Test your FC each day and add enough bleach / LC to get your FC to target level.

Rich,

Just add Liquid chlorine... What did you do the last five years in the winter when salt cells do not work? If you run your pool the TFP way, you should never have to add weekly doses of pool store shock..

You should reread of pool school... Pool School - Pool School

Add liquid chlorine per this chart... [FC/CYA][/FC/CYA]

Thanks,

Jim R.

Rich,

Just add Liquid chlorine... What did you do the last five years in the winter when salt cells do not work? If you run your pool the TFP way, you should never have to add weekly doses of pool store shock..

You should reread of pool school... Pool School - Pool School

Add liquid chlorine per this chart... [FC/CYA][/FC/CYA]

Thanks,

Jim R.

CYA levels are very low - that's just from the test strips v a more accurate water test.