Replacing check valve and a ball valve- not sure exactly how to do it.

brendanmcaninch

Jul 6, 2020
orinda ca
I have a leaking check valve that leaks back into my pool when i run the spa. I am new to the plumbing side but think I have the right areas to make the cuts and what i need to replace.
Can someone take a look and see if this looks right. The pool return is on the left side and the spa return is on the right. In the middle are the check valve and ball valve i need to replace. Those are both currently 11/2 " while the rest is 2 inch. I am planning to replace them all identical size. Attached is a photo and i highlighted in yellow where i think i should make my cuts and take out that plumbing and replace with new.
Hope this is correct but if anyone has any suggestions on if a better way and maybe what order I might install the new plumbing. Thank you

Attachments

• Image.pdf
    93 KB · Views: 13
  • Image1024_1.jpg
    Image1024_1.jpg
    110.3 KB · Views: 35
In terms of simply replacing with a new check & ball valve back to the current configuration (upgraded to same size), I think your proposed cut marks make sense.
I was thinking it would be easier to keep everything 2 inch- but wasnt sure the size of 1.5 inch was there for a reason. when the pool return is open so water goes to both pool and spa as spa has waterfall feature into pool- i was thinking it may be because the design wanted more water diverted to the pool than spa? Think it is okay to replace with 2 inch?

Can you suggest a good check valve for that spot? I was thinking a clear one but not sure-

Thanks so much

Think it is okay to replace with 2 inch?
In your set-up I really don't think a small change one way or the other will make much of a noticeable difference.

Can you suggest a good check valve for that spot?
There are a variety of check valves on the market. Below is one such example. Just be sure to order the correct size for your plumbing.