Pump Wiring for 230volt vs 120volts

TheSadClown

Jan 22, 2020
Surf City, NC
Hello,
I just swapped my pentair superflo to a pentair intelliflo and before I power on anything I need to verify that my old pump was wired for 230volts. What is the most straightforward way to check this? If I do have 120volt setup how hard is it to wire in the pump to run at 230volts? Im not an electrician but I can do the wiring, I just need to know the process.

Post a pic of your pump CB.

Like the pump itself? When I swapped out the superflow to the intelliflow they both had the exact same wires and the exact same terminals. There was a L1 and a L2 connector with a single ground. I simply swapped the same wires to the new pump but havent turned it on yet until I verify that its voltage wiring is correct.

Is the circuit breaker a single or double?

Are the power wires black and white or black and black or black and red?

If you have a multimeter, you can check the voltage directly with the wires disconnected from the pump.

Is the circuit breaker a single or double?

Are the power wires black and white or black and black or black and red?

If you have a multimeter, you can check the voltage directly with the wires disconnected from the pump.

the power wires are both black with a single green ground. I will need to check the breaker, everything is tied into my easytocuh 4 which also powers my intellichor 60

99.9% that it's 240 volts.

Check the circuit breaker to confirm.

I always like to check the actual voltage with a multimeter just to be sure that it's what you think it is.

Do you have a multimeter?

If not, you need to get one if you're going to be doing this type of work.

Reactions: jimmythegreek
99.9% that it's 240 volts.

Check the circuit breaker to confirm.

I always like to check the actual voltage with a multimeter just to be sure that it's what you think it is.

Do you have a multimeter?

If not, you need to get one if you're going to be doing this type of work.