Proteam Supreme Plus help please

jscott82

Feb 26, 2019
louisville ky
I'm brand new to pool ownership (just installed this year in March!). I've tried to read and educate myself alot but it's still confusing sometimes. My pH was kind of bouncing around and trying to stay on the high end. I read alot about adding borates and decided I just didn't want to experiment to that extent with the borax/ acid ratios. So I found Proteam Supreme plus. It had amazing reviews! So before adding anything, my FC was 2, pH was 7.6 and ALK was 100. The instructions were to add 2 lbs per every 1000 gal of H2O, so I used a measurement sheet from Leslies pool store and estimated 2 cups to equal 2 lbs. I put in 16 cups the first night and retested the water. Chlorine was 0, pH was 8.4 and ALk was 140. I added the remaining 16 cups the next day and restested that following morning with same results. I added some dry acid to lower the pH and it did not lower the pH at all! My borate level is reading "low", but I'm scared to put more in as I don't want it to keep raising the pH and zapping out my chlorine. What can I do to get everything back in place?

Well, you have just discovered that pool stores will sell you anything at any price. They sold you "Sodium tetraborate pentahydrate ", what the real world would call Borax. Plus, they increased the price about 10 times.

TFPC tenet - Never put chemistry in your pool when you do not know the outcome

You said you didn't want borates, but that is what they sold you. Stop putting it in.

Go down to Lowes or Home Depot and pick up a jug of Muratic acid. You want the 31% stuff. The dry acid you are using adds sulfates to the pool that build up.

So, liquid chlorine and muratic acid.

Now I'll ask, what are you using to test your water? I have not seen you mention Stabilizer/CYA. The cornerstone of our pool care is the proper ratio between CYA and chlorine. I'll give you a little reading-

So, welcome to TFP!!

Last edited:
Reactions: ButchNH