Rio verde, AZ
Pool Size
Surface
Plaster
Chlorine
Salt Water Generator
SWG Type
Hayward Turbo Cell (T-CELL-5)
Hey ya’ll. Newbie here who has done a massive amount of research on the forums trying to get it all right. I’ve run into a few pool builder challenges that threw my chems out of whack just when I almost had them perfect!

First off, I live in hot, dry Arizona and have a 10,000 gallon salt water inground pebble pool with a small raised spa with waterfall.

The only problem I’ve experienced with my water is a white scale build up on the tiles/grout. I brush every few days to keep that at bay but wowza it comes back in just one day. I can’t imagine that is normal. My PH is always high (new pool perhaps or the waterfall) so I’m adding about 1/4 gallon muriatic acid twice a week to keep it at bay. Salt water pool so no other chemicals really. Oddly enough, my FC is always high even with the SWG running at 30%. During initial start up I was told: keep it at 50%. FYI- I run filter on high for 4 hrs per day and low for 5 hrs per day. I was also told I would never need to shock my salt pool - so I haven’t. Pool was set up in late February.

With all that background info- here’s where I’m looking for help. We had a leak and the salt generator was out for a bit so we had to use chlorine tabs and things got thrown out of whack. We are back up and running and I decided to take a pool sample into Leslie’s for help. Perhaps this was my biggest mistake! Before that, my water was clear but I knew my chlorine was running high and I continue to get lots of the scaling on my tiles. I check my own Chems twice per week- FC, PH, TA. I’ve never checked the CYA or Calcium or Phosphorus on my own. I also purchased a salinity digital tester which puts my salt at 3800ppm (builder put a little too much in!).