Pool above ground build in hillside with retaining wall

roblawlaw

Jul 30, 2022
Nova Scotia, Canada
Hello everyone,

I started in on a grading a pad for a 24' above ground pool this weekend. I purchased the pool used and take down was part of the price. This is my first time attempting a landscaping project of this size so I'm happy for input and advice.

I have a B2301 compact tractor with box blade I used to carve out this hillside to obtain a level pad. I'm almost done digging out the pad, with only about 2" more to remove on the uphill side. I've been scraping with the box blade then checking progress by spinning a long 2x10 with a level mounted to it around a piece of rebar driven in the center of the pad.

My plan is to run a compactor over this area (it's clay) then add crusher dust to perfect the leveling and compact again.

Access to the pool will be from the up hill side. I think I will be building a short retaining wall out of boulders there (2-3 feet), then building a small deck over top that wall at pool level, then grading the further uphill soil to be flush with the small deck. I am planning to add a continuous swale all around the uphill 200 degrees or so to divert water away from the pool.

From what I gather reading the forum, common practice right now is patio stones on compacted soil at the wall upright positions followed by compacted crusher dust up to flush with the those stones? I could borrow a laser transit to really nail those patio stones. This is followed by laying track, erecting the pool wall, then lining the floor with extruded foam cut flush with the walls then the cove then liner. Is there a better way? I've read about some headaches with the patio stones shifting and damaging foam and liners, should they be removed once the crusher dust is compacted and the holes filled with crusher dust? Abandon the stones altogether?

Other questions -

Any uses for the old liner?