Pentair MasterTemp 400 starts cycling when water is 88 degrees

cryptyk

Mar 5, 2022
San Diego
Hi - I have a MasterTemp 400. When I turn on the Spa, the heater runs constantly (maybe 10 minutes) until the water temp is about 88 degrees. Then I get an HLS led and the heater starts cycling. Off for about a minute, then on for about 2 minutes. The water eventually gets to 104, but it takes longer than it could if it just kept running all the way up until the set point.
I have the pump running at 3400 RPM to make sure there was enough flow and still get the same result.

Is this as-designed, or do I have a problem?

You have a problem with short cycling due to the heater overheating.

The HLS is often caused by lack of sufficient water flow through the heat exchanger. This can be due to several things:

• Thermal regulator not opening.
  • External bypass open.
  • Internal bypass broken.
  • Pump too small or on too low rpm.
  • Clogged filter.
  • Scale in heat exchanger.

Start by checking the thermal regulator or the bypass valve in the header.

What type of filter do you have and when did you last clean it? Even with your pump at 3400 rpm a clogged filter can give you low flow.

What is your filter PSI?

Remove the thermal regulator to see if the problem goes away.

When you have the thermal regulator plug out, look to see if the internal bypass plunger is in place.

Look into the heater inlet to see the internal bypass spring.

Check the stack flue temperature.

Turn the heater on.

The fan will come on for about 30 seconds, then you will hear a click, and the heater should fire.

At that moment, which ever thermostat you are using (POOL or SPA) hold that button down for ~10 seconds.

Display should change from water temp to exhaust temp. Normal temps should be in the range of 290-350.

1667153216613.png

1667153227927.png

While running, press and hold the On button to display the exhaust temperature (Older Models).

The new models use the Menu to get the SFS.