Pentair IntelliChlor IC40 - inspect cell

freebsdrules

Sep 3, 2019
delaware
Hi all-

These forums are amazing, thanks in advance!

Last week I noticed the Cell light was flashing which indicates you should inspect the cell. This is my first time doing so in the 3 pool seasons we've had. I've decided to take more "ownership" in our pool's maintenance. So, I bought acid and the cleaning kit and went ahead and cleaned the cell. Put it back together and all was good for a few days I think. Noticed this weekend it was flashing again. I cleaned it again this morning (there was a little build-up still left from last time). Put it back together and everything OK for an hour or so, now it's flashing again. I checked the life of the salt cell and it looks like only about 20% is left (registered 80% used).

What else should I be looking at? Is it just time to replace the salt cell? If so, any reputable places to do so? I noticed a bit of what I assume is algae (green) in crevices around the pool (first time every) which I assume means it's not producing chlorine and I don't want it to get worse!

Thanks again!
Peter

First, add liquid chlorine now to raise your FC to target level.

Have you checked the salt level in the pool water? What volume pool do you have? Can you fill out your signature?

Cleaning the cell with acid reduces its life. Though it sounds like your cell is near or at the end of its life.

Many sites on line for replacement IC40. You just need the replacement cell. Not the power supply. MIght wait until next spring now and just use liquid chlorine to follow the SLAM Process to eliminate the algae in preparation to close the pool for winter.

The manufactured date should be on the bottome of the cell. That wont give you the hours used, but you can use it to guess if you are anywheres near the 10k hour normal life. Mine failed at 6k hours due to excessive cleaning and use of boost mode