Pool Size
Surface
Plaster
Chlorine
Salt Water Generator
SWG Type
Pentair Intellichlor IC-40
Hi all,
Have ordered the following kit that I hope to receive in the next couple of days:
  • Pentair IC40 520555 ($600)
  • FlowVis GPM Flow Meter Valve for 2" ($110)
  • PVC Schedule 40 2" fittings and piping
  • 8 gauge copper grounding wire
Have also got a saw, sander for chamfering pipe joins, pipe cleaner, primer and heavy duty gray cement. This is my first bit of pool DIY so I'm not experienced but have spent many hours researching planning, hydrodynamics, best practices, etc so I think I'm about as prepared as I can be without having an experienced person to consult with. That's where I'd really appreciate anyones input on any install issues you envisage a novice like myself might face particularly regarding the electronics with the EasyTouch8 control panel. I have the installation guide from the Pentair website that I'll use as reference.

I'm planning on installing it between the heater and diverter valve, removing the current check valve (no point in having 2 in that area?) and feeder and putting in a sweep elbow to improve the flow in that area. I'll make sure the spacing between the SWG and flow meter valve is sufficient based on install instructions. I'll also remove the wiring remnants of the Ozone generator which was removed by previous owner but not fully removed so I no longer have a terminal box hanging off the wall (currently behind the filter).

Here are images of the install area:
IMG_1668.jpgIMG_1637.jpg