Pentair Easytouch PL4/PSL4 - different pump speed schedule partially working

MrCota

May 31, 2022
McKinney, TX
Hello folks. This is my first time posting here, though I owe this group for everything I learned about taking care of pools. We are new-ish pool owners. Our pool was built in October 2020. Since then I've used a pool company to take care of the pool, while I learned everything about it on the side. Since last March I've been taking care of my pool and so far I've learned even more.

The pool company set my pump (Pentair Intelliflo VS+SVRS) to run at its highest (3450 rpm) all the time. I found that my pump had different speeds 3 weeks ago. Since then I started playing with it and was able to lower my energy A LOT by running the pool 24 hours on 3 variable speeds. Since we have solar energy, I was able to measure a huge difference between now and last week, when the pump was running for 12 hours at 3450 rpm.

However, it's been a nightmare to program the 3 speeds that allow me to have 3 turnovers. I've tried to run the lowest speed from 8 am to 7:59 am (24 h) and then add schedules to run the pump on high and medium speeds throughout the day. The problem is that the Dang thing works whenever it wants. Yesterday I saw the schedule being followed and both high and medium speeds kicking in. However, this morning it didn't happen. It was supposed to kick in high at 1 PM but it didn't. I'm sure that I'm doing something wrong.

I've got to the point that I've been considering having only one schedule, to run the pump at its slowest speed and add both the high and medium speeds to run once every day.