Pentair CCP420 vs DE Quad 100

stevenb46

Feb 29, 2020
Phoenix, AZ
I'm about to contract with a pool builder. Choices are CCP420 or Quad DE 100 (for over $500 more). Is it worth it? Which would you go with? I have no experience with either. I hear the DE filters are easier to clean and a DE filters pool is clearer, is this true. Is it worth the $500+ (retail price diff is @ $120). I live in the Phoenix area if that makes a difference. WDYT?

We swim a lot at night so I like having my quad de 100. I think that’s when you would notice a difference in clarity. I also like having the clearest water I could get. That would be the reason I’d say to get it. It is not going to be any more difficult to install over the cartridge filter. I would tell them $120 and no backwash valve. $380 installation??? Ask them why, but be prepared to explain the installation process for both filters in order to let them know you know it’s ridiculous. I know my previous builder told me any de filter would be more because they had to run a waste line to a clean out when you backwash, per my cities code. I called an inspector and it wasn’t true so I wasn’t charged extra. Maybe find out before disputing the $380.

Threads talking about the Quad DE...

I agree with Spookie about negotiating the price down.

Steven,