Newbie North Texas pool closing

NEWBIE HERE...I have only lived in my house for about a month now and am just now starting to figure out my pool. I still have a lot of learning to go but it's cool outside today and that got me to thinking about closing the pool. Is it necessary in my neck of the woods? Can I keep maintaining my pool as I have been even though we do get freezing temps here? My old AG was easy as I just unplugged the 2 lines and drained the filter and pump. This one has 2 main drains, 2 skimmers, a Polaris, and some waterfalls. I'm pretty confident with the chemistry, and my pool has been sparkly this last month, but I don't want to break something by not winterizing properly. I've read a few posts about others in southern climates not closing, but not in my area.

Stacie, others in your area might have another opinion, but unlike the true northerners who can see major freezing for weeks on-end, those in your area (or mine at times) see those winter blasts that hit at night and the morning hours and usually tend to not last as long or be quite as severe as other parts of the country. The problem with that is while the water surface may not freeze, parts and equipment around your pool can. Last winter, even some southerners who never close experienced problems with the unusually bitter cold - usually equipment related. Some used to get-by with simply leaving the pump on to keep water moving so the lines won't be able to freeze. But if power goes out, your pump's freeze protection kicks in, or water simply stops moving for some reason, things get tricky. That's when the freezing begins and swelling occurs. Even waterfalls can be tricky if water gets in those joints and swells.

I suspect you'll find a mixture of opinions about N Texas closing, some who close and others who don't in your area. If you chose not to close, I would consider the following:
- Keep water moving during those hard freezes