New to having a pool/trouble with chemicals

andyc821

Jun 4, 2019
Manchester, NH
Hello everyone!

I am new to pool ownership and have some questions on how to get my pool chemicals where they need to be. My in ground pool is ~24,000 gallons with a DE filter. Currently, the pool was just vacuumed and is pretty much spotless and Crystal clear.

Now to the trouble. I need to find the easiest way to get my chorine and CYA to effective levels. Both are currently at 0. My pH is also low but I am working on that with Soda Ash. I have been researching the 3" chlorine tablets that have the CYA built into it, but am weary to use them due to the possibility of having too high of a CYA level as others have had. Are these worth it, or should I use a standalone stabilizer and use liquid chlorine every week?

Thanks for any info you can provide!!

Welcome to the forum!
It is best to just use stabilizer/CYA and chlorine. When you are going to be away from the pool for a few days then use the trichlor.
Add 30 ppm worth of CYA using the sock method. Raise you FC to 3ppm right now and tomorrow, after getting the sock in the pool with the CYA, follow the FC/CYA Levels.

What test kit are you using?
I suggest you read ABC's of Pool Water Chemistry and consider reviewing the entire Pool School eBook.

We recommend using the "stand alone" stabilizer until you reach your desired level of around 50ppm and liquid chlorine daily. You'll love how the DE filters your water. I have one myself. Just don't let your chemistry get away from you. You should read the ABCs of pool water chemistry. And look into purchasing a recommended test kit. You'll get the best bang for your buck with the TF100. They can be ordered through tftestkits.net.