Myrtle Beach South Carolina
Pool Size
Surface
Fiberglass
Chlorine
Salt Water Generator
SWG Type
Pentair iChlor 15
Hi everyone! I’m new to a 10k gal fiberglass salt water pool. Until I got settled in a new house a local pool company was taking care of the pool. A complete disaster working with them and an expensive I want to take into my own hands. A friend told me about pool calculator and TFP. I’ve learned a lot already and looking forward to continuing to learn more. The pool is about 4 years old.

I did my first tests yesterday with the recommended pool test kits. I added baking soda and borax (mule) from what was recommended. Attached were the test results. If anyone has any advice I’m open to suggestions as I’m totally new to this.

in addition I was told that most people around here don’t close their pools for winter. Is there anything special I need to do? How long should I run the filter ( currently set early morning for 4 hours and late afternoon for 4 hours).

Looking forward to enjoying the pool for years to come. Thank you for having me in this group.
Jim

Attachments

• 5DC68DB7-CDD9-418C-80B3-77FDB50736F6.png
    5DC68DB7-CDD9-418C-80B3-77FDB50736F6.png
    411.2 KB · Views: 7
  • 24FA1805-66FE-4A3B-B447-3F97EFF40F2E.png
    24FA1805-66FE-4A3B-B447-3F97EFF40F2E.png
    441.1 KB · Views: 7
  • 18D5D8FA-415E-495E-8CBA-C9554D9DCA35.png
    18D5D8FA-415E-495E-8CBA-C9554D9DCA35.png
    393.9 KB · Views: 7
  • CA42A004-4009-4C2F-97DB-9EBD12DA1568.png
    CA42A004-4009-4C2F-97DB-9EBD12DA1568.png
    371.3 KB · Views: 6
Hello and welcome to TFP! :wave: Great job taking charge of your pool. :goodjob: Some takeaways from your testing:
TA - Make sure it gets up to at least 50; 60-70 might be more ideal.
pH - Anywhere in the 7.5-7.8 range is usually fine this time of year. Once you increase the TA, the pH should climb on its own.
FC - Somewhere between 4-5 ppm to avoid algae.