New Construction Guidance

Megarms

Dec 23, 2017
Eldersburg, MD
Sold my house with a fiberglass pool - swore I would never build another pool as we didn't use the last one enough. So, of course, I have interviewed three concrete pool builders and am trying to make a final decision on what to do.

Things have gotten A LOT more expensive over the past 5 years and while I have some experience with this sort of thing, I am looking for some guidance. I was hoping that there would be a sticky thread at the top somewhere that I could just read through and learn. It looks like things have changed at TFP since I last logged in. Any help finding a thread like I am referring to would be greatly appreciated.

Also, pay particular attention to contract details. Many builders are needing to add in language that covers cost increases on raw materials such that what you sign for may not be what you wind up paying. Concrete prices are all a over the map and sometimes change weekly. Smart builders are covering themselves by having the homeowner pay for any excess costs. Also, builders aren’t always specific about the equipment they quote which then lets them substitute brands if they can’t get them from suppliers. If you have a particular brand you want, like Pentair or Hayward, make sure you get that specified in writing with exact model numbers and “no substitutions”.

Things have gotten A LOT more expensive over the past 5 years
The pandemic increased demand for pools and supply chain issues caused prices on materials and equipment to spike. Pool builders have full order books and are pricing accordingly. But with a recession possible next year it might be prudent to delay your project a little for better deals as some customers might be cancelling their builds due to economic hardships.