Mastertemp 400 Wrong Temperature Readings

mflores83

Apr 19, 2022
Phoenix, AZ
I have a Mastertemp 400 pool and spa heater. It does 1 of 2 things currently:

1) Reads in the inlet temperature in the 90s, water is likely in the 70s. Heater will kick on and heat for about a minute before the temperature rises to 126 rapidly and kicks off the heater

2) When turned on the water temperature shows above 104 so it will not kick the heater on

I ordered a thermostat, a high limit switch, and thermal regulator. All independently did not resolve the issue, same exact things would happen. My parents have the same heater and it is working fine, so I tested the new thermostat, works as it should. Tested my control panel on their heater, works as it should. Tested my wires that go from the thermostat to the control panel on their heater and it works as it should.

Does anything else read the temperature from the incoming water? Am I missing something? I am stumped.

Thanks in advance,

Matt

Thermostat? Do you mean thermister? That is what senses inlet temperature in a Master Temp heater. High limit switches are just that. They are mechanical and open at a preset temperature, basically on/off. Thermal regulator adjusts waterflow through the heat exchanger for optimum heating. A quick rise like you see can be caused by a bad/broken internal bypass assembly. Bad/erroneous inlet temp should be a bad thermister

Are you sure you got a genuine Pentair thermistor?

The lower priced “Pentair type” thermistor are not from Pentair and some people have had problems with them.

Yes, it was the thermistor I was referring to that I ordered and replaced. I will order the bypass valve and have it ready to replace should it be broken when I open it up.

Thanks!
You should also get the manifold O ring kit and replace them while you have it open.