Gold Supporter
May 22, 2018
Elmhurst, IL
Pool Size
Surface
Plaster
Chlorine
Liquid Chlorine
I hope I am posting this in the right Forum category. I have been painting my pool with an epoxy paint for many years with pretty good results. I generally have to repaint about every 5 years and it is about that time. I would like to know the best time to paint the pool (spring or fall) and whether the product I have been using and the steps I have been following are the most appropriate. I have always painted in the spring, but have been told it would be better to do the job in the fall because the ground is less wet (and possibly less chance of debris sticking to the wet paint). I have been using Super Epoxy paint (sold by ITS) and these are the steps I usually follow:
  • Day 1: Drain pool. Power wash entire pool. Acid Wash (small sections at a time) and rinse with power washer again. Remove any debris from pool and pump remaining acid/water out of bottom of pool. Allow to dry overnight.
    • Questions: Is the acid wash necessary and, if so, what is the best strength to use?​
  • Day 2: Scrape all loose paint and grind down any areas where there are distinct paint edges. Patch any cracks or areas where there may be large differences between the paint and the pool surface where paint has built up and chipped away. Re-grout pool tile, as needed. Power wash again to remove dust and paint chips. Allow to dry.
    • Questions: Should I scrape/ grind/ patch before acid washing in step 1 in order to save time?​
  • Day 3: Paint entire pool and allow to dry for 2-3 days (per instructions on paint product).
    • Questions: Is using a primer priming before paint necessary or recommended? If so, should I prime the entire pool or just areas where there is no old paint? Is there a better paint product than the one I have been using?​
  • Day 6: Refill pool with water.