Leslies Fresh N Clear Oxidizing Shock

NYAVGUY

Jul 14, 2014
New York
Hi, I started reading this forum two years ago and have been following most of the TFP advice except for this. I have been using Leslies Fresh n Clear for a couple of years as a once a week shock. With the TF-100 kit I have I always have 0 CC on Saturday morning, but usually .5 - 1 on Sunday evening after the normal weekend bathing load with the kids and all their sunblock. Instead of SLAMing, I just put Fresh n Clear in to address that.

Is it the opinion of this forum that I should shock the pool (SLAM) every Sunday evening to remove the CC? Can I just superchlorinate using my SWG from Sunday night to Monday night? Should normal operation of my pool with FC around 4-5 remove CC by itself.

I also use Natural Chemistry Pool Perfect + Phosfree on Sunday night (also not recommended by TFP)

TFP Method - Alterations to reduce time, but spend a little more $$

Hi,

I have been reading this forum using it for advise for about two years. I plan to start contributing now with some of my own experiences and this will be my first post.

I have been following the TFP method with some exceptions and will explain why below. I would like to get feedback on whether I am wrong, or whether there can be TFP method that requires less time, but allows for a little more chemical budget (still a lot cheaper than a PG).

I switched over to a SWG last year and had issues all summer with PH rise, which I believe was due to a higher TA than recommended for SWG.

TL:DR, I use Leslies Fresh n Clear, Dry Acid, Liquid Stabilizer, and Natural Chemistry Pool Perfect + Phos free in addition to TFP Recommendations. I spend a little more on chemicals to reduce my need to test often and go through a SLAM to remove CC.