Just installed SWCG - Cell Maintenance lights is on

alosito

Jun 24, 2019
Simi Valley, CA
I just installed a brand new Universal 40, and I am running my pump at 1300 rmp. The plan was to run the pump 24/7 at that speed to always generate a little chlorine. Both check salt and cell maintenance lights are on though. Am I supposed to do anything else besides all the plumbing and wiring? Is 1300 rmp an adequate speed to run my VS pump 24/7? I have been using liquid chlorine to maintain my pool. Am I supposed to somehow add salt to the pool now? Please advise. I am really new to SWG.IMG_6023.jpegIMG_6022.jpeg

If 1300 rpm is enough to keep the flow switch closed it is a good speed. As filter gets dirty the flow may go down so monitor for a while. What is your salt level now? You need to test the level then add enough to get to 3000-3500ppm. Need to read page 7 of your manual. SWG should be off until proper level is reached.
Bags of salt or your owner's manual will say how much to add to reach a certain level. Takes about a day for the reading in the SWG to stabilize.

Last edited:
Reactions: Mdragger88
Oh. If I have never added salt to my pool and been only using liquid chlorine for the past four years, should I assume my salt level is zero? I have TF-100 kit. I am guessing it can't test salt. What kit do you recommend I get to test salt?

All forms of manually added chlorine add salt 🧂 so don’t assume zero.
You need to test with a taylor k1766 before adding any- they sell it on tftestkits.

Better to take a sample to a pool store and have the salinity checked. The strips are not reliable.