Intex metal frame pool pump flow loss within 24 hours of filter change

pendragn32

Jul 15, 2020
St. Louis, MO
Greetings. I have been watching these forums and learning for the 7 years I've owned an Intex pool, but this is my first time posting. I purchased a replacement Intex pool last season (12" by 30" metal frame), so my pump is about 15 months old. In the 7 years I've had an Intex pool, I've never experienced this issue. Here's what's happening:

I have 4 Unicel 4607 reuseable filters that I have purchased one at a time for the last 4 years. When I started up the pool this year, everything was fine. But for the past 2 weeks, after I replace the filter, the pump's flow reduces to almost 0 within 24 hours. When I first replace the filter, the flow is normal. But then it steadily declines until it's almost non-existent the next day. If I take the filter out and put another one in, the flow returns to normal, and then drops down to almost nothing by the next day. When I clean the filter after one day's use, it already "looks" pretty clean to begin with- certainly not dirty enough that I would think it would reduce the flow. Yet replacing the filter with a clean one returns the flow to normal for a bit. It's happening with all 4 filters.

I can't figure out what the issue is. The water looks clear, the pH balance is normal (it drops down to 7.3 or so within a week, just as it always has every year, and I bring it back up to 7.6), and the chlorine level is steady between 2 and 3. I don't know if there is an invisible containment that's blocking flow, or if there is something wrong with the pump itself (which again seems normal with a fresh filter), or if there is a suction issue. I did notice a bit of cloudiness in the water and a bit of slipperiness on the pool bottom around when the issue first occurred, but I went all in on superchlorinating and the water looks/feels better now. But maybe I didn't get rid of something.