In-Ground Vinyl over Steel - New Construction in Canada

pigottj

Jan 17, 2022
Charlottetown, PE, Canada
Hi Everyone,
This is my first post, but likely not my last over these next 6 months. I just paid the deposit on a 16x32' Equator/Latham steel wall in-ground pool kit to be delivered in April 2022. Planning on doing the installation and landscaping myself this spring/summer. Very excited and just a bit nervous. I'm a project manager and like to have everything planned out well in advance and leave very little room for error and uncertainty. I've got some questions below, regarding the final depth and the best way to resolve an issue with mounting the acrylic step on the long side of the pool. See my attached diagrams for visual reference.

My wife and I gave a lot of consideration to our desired pool depth - in the end we decided that we would had very little desire for a deep-end and that we would prefer a single depth "sports" pool. This would allow the maximum amount of space for play and lounging for adults and our teenage children. We decided to go slightly deeper than standard depth though, with 48" of water total.

Given the layout of our yard and house, we decided to mount the acrylic/fiberglass steps on the long side of the pool. Given that we don't have a shallow end, it creates a bit of an issue... these steps are designed to be installed in a shallow end (42" high wall panel with 36" of water)... with the last step being a drop of about 12-14" to the bottom of the pool. Installing it on the side of the pool, with a water depth of 48" will cause the last step to be closer to a 2ft drop! Which isn't ideal. (See attached drawing)

One solution suggested to us was to build a raised concrete step in the pool floor in the area of the pool step and cover with the vinyl liner. I see it being difficult to get the liner tight around this area.