Ideal place for 2 returns on this pool?

I'm no hydraulics expert, but I can suggest: was your skimmer located with wind in mind? Most areas have a prevailing wind. A direction in which it usually blows. Your return should be placed to take advantage of that wind, so that surface stuff blows into it, instead of away from it. I'll defer to others for the return locations. I think you want your pool water to spin. That'll drag surface stuff past your skimmer on a calm day, and mix your water around and around, from deep end to shallow. That's good for mixing in chemicals, getting all the water through the filter, and evening out warm spots, etc.

Someone better at this will be along soon, I'm sure...

You need to see this pool in person. There is only one logical location for the skimmer.

Wind won't be much of a factor anyway. The pool isn't out in the open. It is squeezed into a very small residential lot with high fencing.

OK, if there's only one spot then there's only one spot (though I'm not sure why that would be). No matter. If you're bored, put a big beach ball in the middle of where your pool will go. I think you might find you have more wind than you think...

I'm a bit of a mariner. Wind is a big factor in which direction a boat will slip. It can easily overpower the current of the water, and a boat has a lot of mass and area underwater. A leaf... not so much...

If wind is not a factor "for sure", then as Dirk stated, you want to circulate, but also make sure that the return can surface force debris into the one and old skimmer. Couple of questions: how many trees, bushes or anything else that's going to fall into pool? Next, what type of pool cleaner are you going to use? If no major debris on top, then you can focus more on circulation and let the pool pump do the cleaning on the bottom. If debris from trees, then you'll need to focus water movement to skimmer and let the pool cleaner pick us the stuff that falls to the bottom.