How much acid?

Hi,

Wondering how frequently I should be expecting to add acid to maintain pH?

About a week and a half ago, I had a reading of 7 after pool guy dumped a bunch of acid in the pool (don't know how much exactly). Yesterday, back up at or over 7.8 (the limit of my test).

I've had to add 1.2L 320g/L (18 baume) HCl to get it back down to near 7.2 - which in itself is confusing as PoolMath suggested 300-400mL @ my TA level.

My TA is ~30, FC 9

Any insight would be appreciated, I am a pool newb.

Thanks
Matt

Most commonly, pH increase is attributable to one or more of the following: new plaster curing, elevated TA, aeration. Also keep in mind that unless you have a specific need to pull the pH low (i.e before a SLAM), your pool may naturally prefer a pH in the upper 7s which could be just fine. Your TA is already low (a bit too low), so unless your plaster is new, I suspect the pH rise may be because of the small water feature and/or the SWG. Thoughts?

Depends on a number of things such as aeration, plaster age, water temp, as well as TA and borate level.

My pool naturally runs around 7.8. I add acid when it gets above 8.0 and drop it down to about 7.5. I only have to do that about every 2 weeks.

Before I added borates I had to do it every week, sometimes every 3 or 4 days. So needless to say I am a fan of borates.

Note that buffers like borate do not actually reduce your acid needs, you still have to add the same total amount of acid, you just add it in bigger doses less often.

I've been lowering it to initiate a second SLAM for a somewhat persistent algae problem.

Yes, water feature; it is two small waterfalls, that would be aerating quite a bit of water.

Given that, what do I need to look out for? Will I be constantly battling pH and TA levels?

I'll do a bit of research on borates too.