How do I get chlorine higher?

nopeeinool

May 3, 2024
Rockford IL
We purchased a home at the end of the season which came with a freshly built ~26k gallon in ground pool. The equipment includes a Pentair 320 auto chlorinator which I’ve been adding chlorine pucks too. The water is crystal clear right now (paid a company to open the pool a few weeks ago). Using the TF-100 testing kit the chlorine level keeps falling. The test block level is showing 0.5 (free or total chlorine?) and the ph has consistently been 7.3. I’m new to owning and managing a pool. I’ve converted the Pentair auto chlorinator to top feed from bottom feed which seems to have helped a little bit. However the pool is not consuming the chlorine pucks fast enough. How can I get the chlorine level higher? Is shock my only option? Is there anything to look for when selecting a shock to use?

Welcome to the forum!
Post up a full set of test results.
Use liquid chlorine to maintain FC in your pool water. Pucks are not sustainable.
I suggest you read through Pool Care Basics - Trouble Free Pool and even look at a few of our videos TFP-TV - Trouble Free Pool
Thanks mknauss,
I’ll read up. Are there certain results you’re looking for? I can take a water sample to my local store for complete results if my test kit does not suffice.

Your test kit is far more accurate than a pool store test could ever hope to be.

Run through a full suite of tests (use the FAS-DPD powder-and-drop chlorine test, not the comparator block, just to rule out color issues), and provide them like so:

pH:
FC:
CC:
CYA:
CH:
TA:

As stated by Marty, pucks do not work for long term use. Liquid chlorine ("shock") or a SWCG is the way to go.

Reactions: mknauss and Newdude
Nice choice of username. :salut:

And Welcome.

Do you know the pool temp ? Pucks are slow in cool water and it may be that simple if the UV from the sun increased more than it warmed up.