Hayward Aqua Rite SWG

James McCaleb

Feb 10, 2022
Brandon, MS
I am new to salt water pool ownership. I have a Hayward Aqua Rite and a T-15 Cell. To be honest, the only number on the display I was focused on was the salt level. About a week ago I noticed that my average salt level had dropped from 3000 to 1500, which was strange because while it had rained, I did not think it rained much. So I added salt. Checking back in a few days, the number was not up so I added more. Yes, now I have a salt test kit. At this point I actually read the other numbers on the display. The temp is 72, the Cell voltage is 32.4, the amps are 0.00, 100P, -0 for the instant salt, AL-0, r 1.59, K -15. So at this point I realized I had an amp issue. I have noticed that when I turn off the SWG, then turn it back on, after 10 seconds or so I hear a click and the display shows that it produces amps in the 3.5 range for about 20 seconds, then another click and back to zero. At that point the check salt light comes on.

I'm not an expert, but I took my board out and I saw no burn spots and the back round disk had no cracks. I have read a bunch of posts, how do I know whether to replace the board or the cell? Or any other suggestions.

Welcome to TFP.

What does your salt test kit say the salinity is?

What is your water temperature displayed on the Aquarite?

Pressing the diagnostic button sequentially will display:
  • Default salt display
  • Pool temp
  • Cell Voltage - When not generating, the voltage is about 30 to 32 volts dc. When generating, the voltage drops about 1 volt per amp of current.
  • Cell current
  • Desired output (% of the knob)
  • Instant salinity
  • Product name
  • Software revision (r.XX)
  • Cell type

Your cell is probably depleted. See if you have a pool store around you who can test a Hayward cell.