Finally setting up new pool (some basic chem questions)

Diesel72

Gold Supporter
Jun 10, 2018
Oswego/IL
Pool Size
Surface
Fiberglass
Chlorine
Liquid Chlorine
Hi All,

Quick intro:
Had a new 15K gallon fiberglass pool install last fall, but the early snow in November force the setup of equipment to be pushed back to the spring. Well, finally have everything setup and chemicals are going in! On the plus side, I have been pouring over the TFP site for the past 6 months learning everything I can. I have the TF-100 kit with speed stir and even practiced all the tests with tap water. (I’ll get my profile updated with all my equipment soon).

Full initial test results:
FC: 7
CC: 1
CYA: 0
PH: 8
TA: 270
CH: 200

Anyway, went to Leslies to get chemicals and also have them test my water just to compare results. For the most part our results were the exact same...except for TA. I had a TA reading of 270 and they had 190 (I trust mine). Either way, it needs to come down. So, I just want to make sure I’m doing this correctly. I’m using dry acid, and according to the directions I shouldn’t put in more than 20oz for every 10,000 gallons at a time. Since my pool is 15K, I’ve been putting in 30oz ever four hours (mixing it in a 5 gallon bucket first). I measure the TA before putting in more acid and it is going down. Seems to go down 10ppm each time, so this will take awhile, but it’s working. Does this sound right? Should I just keep following this, or are there some tricks to speed it up?

Next question...
I’m going to raise CYA to 30 to start and raise up to 40 if chlorine seems to burn off too quickly. Can I add CYA at the same time as the acid? I was thinking I could add the acid, wait a couple hours to let it mix, then add the CYA (I have the liquid). Would that be ok, or should I wait until TA adjustment is finished?