FC lower than expected

quantumgirl

Jul 29, 2022
Houston
Pool Size
Chlorine
Liquid Chlorine
Newbie here 👋 I have an 8000 gallon liner pool. We just refilled it because I wasn’t able to get any kind of chlorine reading even after dumping 5 lb of shock in at the time. CYA was at 130. I’m in Houston.

So I bought the test kit. Made the switch to liquid chlorine. Clean pool with fresh water. Adjusted pH. Added some CYA. Last night my FC was at 0 (24 hrs after refill with tap water which initially had some chlorine in it). So I added 1 gallon of liquid chlorine from Leslie’s (10-12.5% concentration). According to pool maths, it should have gotten me up to an FC of 12. I added the chlorine after sunset.
This morning right at sunrise I got those numbers:

Ph-7.5
TA- 80
CYA- maybe right at 30 or a little less
FC- 5
CC-0.5

Question: how come FC didn’t get all the way to 12 with a whole gallon of liquid chlorine? Is this normal? I can’t afford to add an entire bottle every day. So if the sun wasn’t out, and it’s brand new water that shouldn’t be contaminated, where did the chlorine go?

Because you probably still have residual algae in the water from when you couldn't get any kind of a chlorine reading.

How much CYA did you add? What was your target with the amount you added?

Tonight, lets add about half a bottl of that 10/12% chlorine. Let the pool circulate and after the sun sets get a chlorine reading. Tomorrow before the sun is up lets get another one and see what exact loss is.

Well according to Leslie’s it had just come in on the truck the day prior 🤷‍♀️
Look on the side of the bottle. The manufacture date will be in small black letters/numbers.

Something like 220125XXXXX That would be manufacturered on the 125th day of 2022. Even fresh, if they stored it out in the heat it degrades quickly.

Reactions: Mdragger88