FC Level for My Saltwater pool

Jul 11, 2020
Texas
Hi all,
I’m pretty new to owning a pool. As I was reading this forum (a lof of useful information), one thing I don’t understand is the FC for salt water. I’ve seen some post above suggesting to leave FC at 6 or 8. I thought it’s not safe to swim at level higher than 5? Please excuse my lack of understanding.

Welcome to the forum!
FC level is dependent on your CYA level in the pool water. See FC/CYA Levels
You can safely swim in a pool as long as the FC is above the minimum and at or below SLAM level based on your CYA. You must also be able to see the bottom of the pool in the deep end of the pool.
Read Free Chlorine - Further Reading
I suggest you read ABC's of Pool Water Chemistry.

Welcome NPO !! You need your own threads for separate questions. :) There are many sub forums to get targeted answers from the pros who hang around their specialties.

Safe chlorine levels for both sanitizing and people fluctuate based on the CYA level of the pool. As the CYA increases, the level of chlorine needed does as well. SeeFC/CYA Levels. It is not well understood in the industry, or, *** most likely or***, they purposely ignore it to throw the pools out of whack to make the store more money.

Thank you for the response and please excuse my ignorance. But my thought is why increase cya to 70-80 level and in return have to increase FC to high level to keep it effective. Why not do nothing with CYA or keep it low, mine is currently 30. I measured FC through out the day and I’m able to maintain at least 2.5 FC on a hot 100 degree day. Will it be sufficient?

Thanks Jim. Nice looking pool you got there. :) I guess if the SWG is able to keep up, won’t the preference be to not add any additional chemicals if you don’t have to.

Just trying to have a “clear” understanding, it’s a little “cloudy” at the moment. :)