Sep 7, 2021
Martinez, California
Pool Size
Surface
Plaster
Chlorine
Liquid Chlorine
20211009_082610.jpg20211009_082602.jpg
this is my current state of electrical. I just bought the house and I'm a new pool owner. I'm a plumber by trade but electrical isn't my strong suit. My neighbor is an electrician and said if I buy all the stuff he'll help me wire it. So my question is: What is a good affordable sub panel to put here? Also after I get this electric set up, I'm going to get a pentair intelliflo 3hp vs pump. currently I have a single speed 1 hp pump. do I need to change anything with my breakers? also do I need the timer anymore since the new pump with have its own timer? any advice on total electrical build is appreciated. I'm ripping all of this out and basically starting from scratch

You have just a pool light and a pump. You will not need the timer if you go with the IntelliFlo VS pump. You will need a new subpanel with GFCI breakers for both the pump and light. The pump will be 230V whereas the light will be 120V which you currently have now.
A bigger step would be to go to a full automation system to have control via your phone. Obviously there is a cost increase for those features. Maybe someone is selling one that they have after an upgrade.

How do you clean the pool. Do you have a manual vacuum cleaner? Do you think you may put in a robot? If so, you will also need a GFCI plug for 120V.
You currently use Liquid Chlorine. If you think you may go with a SWCG, then you need to plan for that to connect to the same pump breaker.
post a picture of your complete equipment pad and your pool as well. That helps to allow others to see your current set up and consider other options.

Last edited:
20211010_180429.jpg20211010_180409.jpg