Draining pool to reduce CYA, replacing water, then SLAMing

Darron

May 30, 2019
Georgetown, TX
Hi. My CYA is off-the-charts high, so I'm about to drain the pool, replace the water, and then start the SLAMing process.

I have read the SLAM article. Just to confirm I understand the correct order of re-introducing the chemicals, I need to bring the pH up to 7.2 - 7.5 with the new water before I start adding the liquid chlorine, correct?

Historically, my pH has been low and I've been adding Borax to get it up. I'm not sure what to expect with the replacement water from the hose. I'm guessing the pH is naturally low and I'll need to actually raise it this time?

Any tips or recommendations are appreciated. This is my first time draining and SLAMing. Thanks in advance!

Darron

You can test your fill water if you are curious.

Sounds like a good plan to me! Don't bother testing anything other than FC/CC until you are finished SLAMming (pH will not be accurate with FC over 10)

ETA don't drain below a foot in the shallow end if you have a liner. You can do an exchange and not have to drop the level at all if you want.

Can you fill out your signature please?

Knowing that your PH has been historically low and your CYA is off the charts high, it begs the question. How have you been adding chlorine in the past? If you were using Trichlor pucks, they are acidic and will lower PH. That could be the reason you had low PH and when you stop using them you'll get off that roller coaster.

You can test your fill water if you are curious.

Sounds like a good plan to me! Don't bother testing anything other than FC/CC until you are finished SLAMming (pH will not be accurate with FC over 10)

ETA don't drain below a foot in the shallow end if you have a liner. You can do an exchange and not have to drop the level at all if you want.

Can you fill out your signature please?
Thanks, Mr. Bruce! I will test the fill water for pH. That's a good idea.