CYA Chart is different than app? Trying to understand why.

Yarzy

Bronze Supporter
Jul 16, 2020
Chalfont, PA
Hi Everyone! I am still VERY new to the pool world, only having our new pool for little over 1.5 months now. I have been testing the water daily per the TF-Pro Salt test. Because of the changeover to salt, in the app I made the change as well, telling the app is it using SWG. My question is, if I look at the CYA/FC chart on the website, it says with a CYA level of 95 (high, I know), I should have a FC level of 4-6/4-7. On the app, it says 4-13? Any idea why that is? Just so you have all the info, here are all my numbers:

24k pool
1.25 24 SWG output
Plaster

Numbers:
FC-2.5
PH-7.5
TA-80
CH-225 (going to the store today to bring this up)
CYA-95 (I am hoping this was due to the salt being added as 5 days ago it was 60
Salt - 4000 (what should range be)
85 degrees water temp

I am sure I am not reading something correctly, but I cant understand why the FC is saying 4-13 when the chart is more like 6/7. Any ideas? Thanks!!!!

You FC number is way low... You probably need to do an Overnight Chlorine Loss Test check just to make sure you have nothing growing...

With a CYA of 95> we say 100 as there is no 95 the recommended FC is 7.. I run my pool at 7 FC and I have CYA at 80.. I would recommend you run your FC level at 8...

The minimum is a cliff, you never want to drive off a cliff and you never want to get near a cliff... With a SWG you really want 8 FC at all times 24/7 I run my SWG during the day and keep it at 7 FC, during the night the FC stays at 7 and the pump/SWG turns on at sunrise.. :)

As for the app I am not sure, it should have said it was 7 for the recommends just like this.. Chlorine / CYA Chart - Trouble Free Pool
It is showing the FC level for a non SWG pool...

The app is giving the entire FC range with minimum for SWCG and upper target for manually added chlorine. Your FC right now is way too low. Add liquid chlorine.