Constant adjustments or let it ride through?

red-beard

Gold Supporter
May 27, 2019
Houston, TX
Pool Size
Surface
Plaster
Chlorine
Salt Water Generator
SWG Type
Hayward Aqua Rite Pro (T-15)
I'm still new to the SWG but it is obvious I need a setting of 22% on a bright sunny summer day. On cloudy days, it definitely doesn't need as much chlorine. We went from a lot of super sunny days to a lot of mostly cloudy days and I find that 10-15% is better on cloudy.

Are you changing the setting on the cloudy/sunny days, or do you just leave it alone and let the FC go up on the cloudy days?

At 20%, it definitely loses FC over 24 hours.

I absolutely let it ride. My FC will vary be several before I adjust the setting. There is just no need to hit a specific number. Keep it in range or on the higher side of a range (or little above like me often). Then you'll have no worries. There are no ill effects of having a little bit too high FC.

I always let it ride and a little high is nothing but insurance. I am moving and was busy packing things for a week and a half so I let it go. Then we got delayed for another week but only 1 day at a time so I let it go some more. This weekend I checked for the first time in 2.5 weeks and it was a 12. It was probably 14 a few days that were overcast. If anything it was piece of mind for me not to be worrying about it while I had bigger fish to fry.

Even if I was staying and I would see those hours of production taken off the lifespan, I wouldn’t care 5 seasons from now that I didn’t have to baby sit it to make it last 5.25 seasons. I’ll gladly trade the extra month or two for the 5 blissful years.

The FC is going to vary based sun, volume of water in the pool (evaporation and rain), organic load, and a bunch of other factors Unless there is some sort of major change (like you normally have your family of 4 swimming for 2 hours a day, and now you are planning a 20 person pool party on a sunny weekend) just let it ride.

James,