Summit Hill, PA
Pool Size
Surface
Vinyl
Chlorine
Salt Water Generator
SWG Type
Hayward Aqua Rite (T-3)
Just got my first pool and I am concerned that the T-3 cell I have is too small. My PB picked the cell size and I’m afraid it won’t produce enough chlorine to maintain my TFP desired/recommended level. Am
I just overthinking this because I’m new to this or do I have a legit concern? I really don’t want to go and waste the money to get a T-9 cell if I really don’t have to

I would agree that the T-3 is too small. A 24ft round is about 14K with 4 ft of water. You want a cell that is rated at least twice the capacity of your pool. This is from the wiki

T-3 = 210 pounds - 15,000 gallons
T-5 = ??? pounds - 20,000 gallons
T-9 = 385 pounds - 25,000 gallons
T-15= 580 pounds - 40,000 gallons

So your PB picked one that exactly matches the volume of your pool. But that assumes you are running at 100% for 24/7 hours and allows no leeway for adjusting the cell's output for different conditions.. Its no wonder you are not keeping up. If you are going to spend to the money to bump up I would go with the T15.

Reactions: ksteber
K,

I estimate your pool is about 13,500 gallons.. A T-3 cell in that size pool will generate 5.3 ppm of Chlorine when run 24/7 at 100% output. That is .22 ppm per hour..

Most pools use between 2 to 4 ppm per day, so let's say yours uses 3 ppm per day. That means you would need to run the cell at 100% for about 13 hours a day.

This is why we suggest a cell that is rated for at least 2 x the volume of your pool..

Thanks,

Jim R.

Reactions: ksteber
Use what you have and run your pump as long as necessary to generate the needed chlorine with the cell at 100%.

When you deplete the cell then upgrade to a T-9 or T-15 cell.

You will use your pump runtime to adjust your SWG output.

Send the electrical bills for your pump runtime to your PB. With your VS pump at a low rpm the electrical cost should not be too high.