Chlorine tabs/ Liquid Chlorine

jland47

Silver Supporter
Jul 26, 2017
Louisiana
Just registered to the site but I have been referring to this forum for 2-3 years when I have issues with my pool. We have 60,000 gunite pool just recently replastered (this is our second summer with it being renovated). During the renovation I had new skimmers installed and plumbing around the filter/pump redone. When this occured I had the company install two automatic chlorinators (tabs) becasue I couldn't keep the chlorine level high enough during the summer with all the swimmers we were having. We replace the old pump with a Intelliflo 2 vst pentair and had the sand changed this year after having some green water issues. I didnt have any major issues last year but this summer has been a pain.

All this brings me to the old issue of liquid chlorine vs tabs, I've read a lot and I know everyone says liquid but, would this be the case for a small commercial pool. Larger waterparks use liquid chlorine with automated systems, I just wonder why our contractor wouldn't have recommended this, and no he doesn't sell the chemicals or had a friend selling them to me. Thoughts / comments?

Welcome to the forum!

Most pool builders have very little knowledge about proper pool water chemistry or how to manage it.

Your size pool is large for normal residential pools. An algae outbreak would be very expensive to manage unless you can change your water with little cost.

A Stenner automated chlorine injection would be viable. You would need a source of bulk chlorine. Would not want to fill it by the gallon from the grocery store!

Sand only needs to be changed in a sand filter if you have used too many pool store potions. Sand is millions of years old. It does not wear out.

Good luck -- take care.

Also - if this is a commercial pool that is normally regulated by your local health department.