North Jersey
Pool Size
Surface
Vinyl
Chlorine
Liquid Chlorine
...like literally, brand new.

Hey TFP folks,

I was recommended by a coworker to this site, and it's been an absolute lifesaver. I even purchased a subscription for Pool Math as well!

I want to apologize for the following essay, but I want to list as many facts as possible so I can get sound advice and not to waste money.

A little background, this is my first time owning pool, but I'm not a complete newbie. I used to help my buddy with his pool cleaning chores when I was a kid. He had a cartridge system.

As shown in my half-completed bio, I have a DE filter for what I calculated as an approximately 23,000 gallon pool.

The previous owners left all of last year's fall in the pool when they closed it last season, as well as utilizing a mesh cover. The pool was a very dark green. We utilized a local company to open.

I'm learning a lot as I go along. DE filtration was completely foreign to me. The guys who opened barely explained the filter to me. They basically left me with the idea that the DE would capture onto the algae and settle to the bottom of the pool, where a vacuum would pick it up the DE/Algae mess. They also barely showed me how to backwash the filter, or when to backwash. They did hose down the grid, at least. The clean pressure at the filter is what I assume to be 20 PSI. The max pressure per the manufacturer is 50 PSI.

They also didn't properly open the valves, as I spent an hour on the phone with the owner of the company trying to diagnose the issue of no pressure. The handles are broken and require channel locks. I can only assume that because they came back early the next morning and the valves were in different positions.