Bought sightly smaller motor by mistake, still good?

aquaN00b

Gold Supporter
Jul 29, 2018
VA
I don’t know how I managed to do this, I think I did a Google search and clicked the lowest priced one and didn’t double check the model number only the 56J part. Anyway as you can see the old motor is 1 hp the new motor is 1 hp, but the new motor is total horsepower of 1.25 and the old motor is total horsepower of 1.65. The Frame is still the same at 56J. The pool is green because it took two weeks to get here And today’s the day I was going to install and get back on track. Now I’m wondering if I should exchange it for the same model or if I should just press on. Being an aqua noob, I don’t really know the consequences of pressing on. Any thoughts from the veterans?

Attachments

• 32EDA982-5059-4B22-ADCD-0D19F55A48D8.jpeg
    32EDA982-5059-4B22-ADCD-0D19F55A48D8.jpeg
    484 KB · Views: 7
  • 8BDC190D-9E58-4BD2-8242-6E079912E5EF.jpeg
    8BDC190D-9E58-4BD2-8242-6E079912E5EF.jpeg
    409.5 KB · Views: 8
The new motor will probably be overloaded by the current impeller. You could downsize the impeller to match the new THP.

OR you can throttle the pump to keep the current draw below the maximum.

The new motor will probably be overloaded by the current impeller. You could downsize the impeller to match the new THP.

OR you can throttle the pump to keep the current draw below the maximum.

I replaced the impeller in 2018 with a 1.5 THP one, so you're likely right. So you think downgrading that to a 1.0 THP impeller would do the trick? ThinkI could run the smaller motor for a few days until the smaller impeller arrives?

The new motor amp rating is higher than the old motor amp rating. So, the new motor should be fine. The total hp is often a made up number.

Check the amperage to make sure that it's not going above the rated amperage on the label.

I would downsize the impeller in any case.

What is the pump model number?