East Hampton NY
Pool Size
Surface
Plaster
Chlorine
Salt Water Generator
SWG Type
Hayward Aqua Rite (T-15)
My pool AquaRite generally reads a lower salt than my electronic meter (about 200 off). Similarly my spa Jandy salt system is the reverse, reading lower salt than the meter (by 100-200 depending on water temperature). My meter is calibrated with a reference solution so I tend to trust it.

The AquaRite runs best at 3600, which is the ceiling level it should get. But 3600 on the AquaRite is a true 3800 on my meter. Should I let pool run at 3800 or limit to 3600 on my meter, 3400 on display?

I'm new to SWCG, but I'm starting to think the salt concentration thing is pulled from random number tables or magic. Interesting that your Aquarite and my Pentair both specifiy 3600ppm as the best concentration, yet you say Aquarite puts 3600 at the top of the acceptable range, while Pentair (IC40) specifies a range of 3600-4500 but its preferred level is the bottom of their OK range. Neither of these make sense to me. However, for another opinion, you can't go wrong with the Taylor K-1766.

Reactions: HermanTX
I'm new to SWCG, but I'm starting to think the salt concentration thing is pulled from random number tables or magic. Interesting that your Aquarite and my Pentair both specifiy 3600ppm as the best concentration, yet you say Aquarite puts 3600 at the top of the acceptable range, while Pentair (IC40) specifies a range of 3600-4500 but its preferred level is the bottom of their OK range. Neither of these make sense to me. However, for another opinion, you can't go wrong with the Taylor K-1766.

You should follow the SWG manufactures guidance and not compare or get confused with what other manufacturers say. Different SWGs use different ways of controlling their cell and measuring the salinity.