Average RPMs for Spa to spillover to pool

Hi Newbie here.... I have a new 9K gal, 12 x 26 fiberglass pool with all Jandy equipment. Everything is working great but I've run into an issue that I'm working with my PB with. I upgraded from a 2 speed pump to a variable speed pump during construction because I wanted to run the pump on a lower speed over a longer period of time for a more quiet operation (equipment is near my neighbors house...and I like them! :)) I also wanted to reap the benefit of a lower electrical bill by running on a lower speed. The problem I'm having is the I need the RPMs to be at 2500 rpms (run 5 hrs a day right now 8am to 1pm) in order for the water to cascade over the spillway and not fall directly onto the stone below the spillway. I started at 1750 RPMs and increased gradually until I got to 2500 RPMs and clearing the stones. What is the average RPMs needed to get the water from the spa over the spillway without hitting the stones. Is 2500 RPMs considered high?? If you need more details so you can better answer please ask...I'm new at this (my 1st post...Lol)
Thank You in Advance.

Sam,

Why do you need to run it 5 hours a day?

The exact speed would be different for every pool, as it is dependent on the plumbing and how high above the equipment pad your spa is.

I have an 3 HP IntelliFlo VS pump, which is about the same as yours... I have to run it at 2800 RPM to get my waterfall wall to flow into my pool and look good.. So, 2500 sure sounds like it is in the ballpark to me.

Thanks for posting,

Jim R.

Thank You Jim....

Since my pool is new (November) and I'm just learning how things work, I have a pool service guy. He has it set for 5 hrs.

My pool guy said 2500 RPMs consumes low electricity compared to a single or 2 speed pump. The other problem is the pump sound is more noticeable whereas at lower speeds you almost can't hear the pump. Super quiet...another reason I upgraded to the VS pump.