Automation Questions

n4trombl

Aug 9, 2020
Porter, TX
J,

Pentair makes two automation systems that I would not recommend to even my mother-in-law.. The IntelliConnect and the "lite" version of the EasyTouch..

You need a real EasyTouch with ScreenLogic, or the new IntelliCenter.

Your list shows a good pump... the IntelliFlo, and a good filter, the CCP-520

If you still don't own a cell phone, than a Pentair Racer with booster pump is for you.. But assuming you don't still live in the 60's, you really should dump any type of water powered cleaner, and get yourself a low voltage Robot.. Something like this..

I personally like saltwater pools, but understand that can be a hard sell in the Houston area.

Thanks,

Jim R.
@Jimrahbe Stumbled across this as I was doing some searching of my own regarding equipment and pumps. I'm a newbie and doing an owner pool build in Houston TX and we are starting our dig 9/3. Wanted to get your opinion on a couple items if you don't mind:

1) Was originally looking at the Hayward Automation (and Hayward equipment) however I've been reading up and watching more on the Pentair IntelliCenter and wondering if that might be a better route. I found a few posts back in 2018 when IntelliCenter seemed much newer which comes with its own troubles, but as of more recently, would you say it'd be a safer bet?

2) Appreciate the living in the 60's comment :) I too had planned on a water powered cleaner, but am really liking what I'm seeing with the Robot instead. Saves the trouble of needing to have a cleaner pump and line dedicated I assume?

n4,

I have three pools and they each have an EasyTouch Automation system, IC40 Salt Cells and IntelliFlo pumps. I love them.. It was the best pool decision that I have ever made..