Are there step-by-step instructions on how to drain pool pipes for winter storm freeze?

plays10s

Mar 2, 2022
Carrollton, GA
Surface
Plaster
Chlorine
Salt Water Generator
SWG Type
Pentair Intellichlor IC-40
Just wondered if there were some step-by-step instructions on draining your pool pipes in case there would be a power outage and freeze. We've gotten down in the single digits before, and I want to be prepared. What pipes do we I drain? I'm very new with our pool. We have a pool pump, filter, salt thing, heater, etc. What all should be drained? How? Also, once storm passes and power comes back on, do I have to put water in anything to restart? I feel like this is overwhelming trying to protect everything when I don't know how. We don't have a surge protector on our panel, and I've looked into that from another member of this group. Hopefully, we can install that soon.

Thanks for any help! I'm really appreciative.

Every pool is different. You need to develop your draining plan based on your pool and equipment.

If you post pics of your equipment pad we can help you think through it. Locate the drain plugs for your pump (there should be two), filter, heater (check the manual).

Read these articles to get you thinking about what needs to be done...

Reactions: Mdragger88
The important thing is to know how to drain your pump, filter and heater. The pump has 2 drain plugs - on each side of the impeller. They are little knobs to unscrew and drain the pump. Can open up the basket cap as well.

The heater has a drain plug near the inlet/outlet pipes. remove and drain.

The filter has a large drain plug at bottom - can be difficult to access so find what is needed to unscrew it now.
Open up the relief valve on top to allow water to drain.

Show pictures of your equipment pad and we can review if there are any valves that need to be closed.

Suggest you have a tarp handy as well to cover the entire pad to keep ice and snow off of it.
See mine below