Alkalinity Moved FAST

Aug 24, 2013
I am not very good at math, and have been trying to raise my alkalinity with a large bag of alkalinity up for pools. I am not even sure the scoop size it does not say but it is about the size of a golf ball. I had been stuck at 60ppm for a while, add a scoop wait a day test and repeat. Took at least 2 scoops to raise it 10ppm from 60-70ppm. I was targeting 80ppm so the next time I added 2 scoops thinking 5ppm per scoop according to last test. Well this last 2 scoops brought it from 70ppm to 160ppm! What?!

For future reference- All that stuff is is baking soda. And costs more. Next time hit up Wallyworld and they sell large bags there for a fraction of the cost of "Alkalinity Increaser" at the Pool Store.

More bucks in your pocket for floats and pool toys, right!?! :whoot:

Maddie :flower:

I did learn after buying the last bag it is only baking soda so I will be buying baking soda off Amazon for now on.

I do not understand how to use the PoolMath calculator.

I did a TA test this morning before using the spa and it came down to 110ppm so I am not sure. I actually frequently wipe the bottle droppers clean but that is interesting about the static!

Can the PoolMath be used line by line or do I have to plug in all perimeters before calculating?? I was not able to figure it out.

So I have come to a conclusion today with this, the alkalinity has to be set higher than your target if you plan to use pH decreaser afterward because the sodium bisulfate lowers the alkalinity. I was going back and forth trying to work my way up, but it seems I need to do the alkalinity all at once based on how much sodium bisulfate I will be adding afterwards. Right?

Enjoying this content?

Support TFP with a donation.

Give Support
I really do not understand what is going on then, yes I have complete results.

CH - 80ppm
ALK - 80ppm
PH - 7.6-8+
CYA - 40