Algae Removal Advice

Donh

Jan 28, 2017
Clermont Florida
I have been using the TFP method for the past 2 1/2 years and have done weekly testing religiously. I have used the slam process successfully several times but this time I am struggling. Last weekend I noticed what I thought was a small amount of algae in several places. I believe my FC was low compared to the CYA. Pre slam test results (SWG)
PH 7.4
FC 5 CC 0
TA 70
CH 450
CYA 80
Salt 3200

I started the slam last Saturday using a level of 31; testing and adjusting every 3 hours. I had to work Tues and Wed so had to pause the process. I am not able to pass the overnight test. I don’t have the results from early on but the last 2 days I have lost 4.5 and 6.5.

— It isn’t making sense that my results have gotten worse. I noticed my R871 has a best by date of 9/19 so I will get a new one today.
—The pool water looks very clear.
—I am in central Florida. We did have a tropical storm pass thru end of last wk; 4-5 inches of rain
—I have read the slam docs many times and believe I am following it correctly; pump running 24/7, vacuum, brush and filter clean daily

Any advice is appreciated.

The answer is always, "Not enough chlorine!". In your case your target is actually 6 and even though you are in the "safe" range at 5 you are skating on the edge. Target 10% of CYA to make up for testing errors and high usage days. How long do you run your pump? I run mine 24x7 at low RPM so I am always generating and adding a little bit of chlorine.

Patience, patience, patience. The SLAM Process can take more than a few days. The algae had many days to multiply and now will take many days to be eradicated.

31 is the right target. You don’t say how often you are checking and how much chlorine you need to add. Keep at it. Your Overnight Chlorine Loss Test confirms you have algae even if the water is clear.

Your 9/19 R871 should be fine unless you stored it in high heat.

Last edited: