New Owner Troubles with Plumbing

May 25, 2018
Bethany, CT
Background: I bought a house with an in-ground pool a month ago and I'm trying to get it up and running right now. I'm an engineer with a strong background in fluid dynamics. I'm pretty handy around the house and cars, so I feel like I should be able to handle this with some guidance from more knowledgeable people.

I had a company come "open" the pool - basically they installed the ladder and railing, threw in some chemicals to get rid of the algae, and tried to turn it on. There was a leak in the chlorinator, so they couldn't get it running for any significant period of time so they left and charged me $300. They said they didn't have the required o-ring to fix it. I went out and got the o-ring, fixed the chlorinator and turned it on.

I've attached a crude schematic of how I understand the pool to be plumbed. EDIT: Pump Pic

One issue is that I don't know what the story is with the port labeled (2) in the schematic. I can't get it to do anything. I assume it can't be an intake port because there's only 2 pipes coming into the Dial-a-flo, one from (S), the skimmer, and one from (3). But it also doesn't output water into the pool, so I can't figure out what it is supposed to be doing. I ran a fish tape ~15ft into it thinking it was maybe clogged, but didn't feel anything. There is only 1 pipe coming out of the top of the filter and going underground.