Become a TFP Supporter Pool Math Forum Rules Pool School

Thread: Question about damage from copper algaecide

1. Back To Top    #1

Question about damage from copper algaecide

I have been using the BBB method for several years with good results. I first learned about it on this site. Thanks.

Recently I hired a guy to vacuum and brush my pool. I did not make it clear to him that was all I wanted him to do and that I wanted to continue doing the chemicals myself. He added some copper based algaecide. We talked and he knows not to add anything more, but the copper based algaecide is alreday in the water.

What damage will this do and do I need to modify the BBB method in any way going forward? Is it enough of a problem that I need to drain the pool? I really don't want to drain the pool if I don't have to.
    36 x 18 oval pool, inground, plaster pool.
    27000 gallons
    1 hp pump. Sand filter
    Pool built in 1971.

2. Back To Top    #2

Re: Question about damage from copper algaecide

One dose of copper should not be enough to cause any problems.

Keep calm and carry on
    Jason, TFP Moderator
    18k IG pebblesheen pool, Hayward ProLogic P4 w/ T-15 SWG, Pentair 1HP 2-speed Superflo, Hayward 6020 DE filter
    500 sqft Heliocol solar panels, ThePoolCleaner, TF-100 test kit w/ SpeedStir
    Pool School + Test Kit + PoolMath = A TROUBLE FREE POOL
    If you found TFP helpful and we saved you money ... Become a TFP Supporter!

3. Back To Top    #3

Now my chlorine tests don't work, and I know there is plenty of chlorine in the water because I just added it.

When I do the daily test, adding the R-0060 to the water, the water is clear, showing there is no chlorine, but I know there is.

When I do the drop test and add the R-0870 powder to the water, it doesn't turn nearly as pink as it used to. It is more of a light purple color. This is the first time I am doing the drop test this year and the
    R-0870 powder is over a year old, so maybe that is the problem.