Become a TFP Supporter Pool Math Forum Rules Pool School
Results 1 to 7 of 7

Thread: Wiring Question: Replacing old 2 Speed with new VS Pump

  1. Back To Top    #1

    Join Date
    May 2017
    Location
    Anaheim Hills, CA
    Posts
    2

    Wiring Question: Replacing old 2 Speed with new VS Pump

    After 18 years of mostly hassle free service, my old Pentair WhisperFlo (2HP 2 Speed) finally went to the great pool equipment scrapyard in the sky. So I decided to replace it with a new Pentair SuperFlo VS, and I have a few of questions in regards to wiring. The old system ran through an analog timer to cycle the filter in low speed mode and an "air switch" to activate the high speed and heater function.

    Pool Information: 1000 Gallon - In ground hot tub

    1) The old 2 speed motor had 4 wires attached to it: "L1" Black, "L2" Blue, "GND" Green and "A" Brown. I know L1, L2, and GND are my 220 supply and am clear on their connection. However, what about the "A"? I assume this was the connection for the low-speed function and is eliminated with the new VS motor.

    2) Can the "air switch" be removed? I assume I will now be using the control panel on the pump to select a high speed setting and that this higher flow rate is what activates the heater.

    3) Finally, since the new VS motor has programming and speed control I assume that the analog timer can be completely removed.

  2. Back To Top    #2

    Join Date
    Mar 2017
    Location
    House Springs
    Posts
    97

    Re: Wiring Question: Replacing old 2 Speed with new VS Pump

    Is it a pressure switch that your refering to? How do you turn the heater on/off now? You might need the optional remote cable for the pump to interlock it to the heater. You can create schedules right on the pump the 1,2,3 buttion then using the cable, tie that to your heater so when it calls for heat it forces the pump to stay in speed 3.
    Pool: 14,000-gal IG
    Filter: Pentair Sand Dollar, Pump: Pentair Superflo VS
    Automation: Pentair EasyTouch w/ Autelis, Lighting:Globrite
    Pentair SWG IC20, Prowler 820, K-2006


  3. Back To Top    #3

    Join Date
    May 2017
    Location
    Anaheim Hills, CA
    Posts
    2

    Re: Wiring Question: Replacing old 2 Speed with new VS Pump

    Yes, i guess you would call it a pressure switch. Currently the power switch on the heater stays on all the time. When the motor runs at low speed the heater does not activate (burners on), but when the pressure switch is pressed the motor bumps up to high speed and the heater activates (burners on) a few seconds later. I always assumed that there is some type of flow meter inside the heater which controls this.

    It is an old heater (18+ years) so there is no way to interconnect with the new pump. I plan on replacing this in a couple of years or sooner if it dies.

  4. Back To Top    #4

    Join Date
    Mar 2017
    Location
    House Springs
    Posts
    97

    Re: Wiring Question: Replacing old 2 Speed with new VS Pump

    Can you post a picture of this switch. Sounds odd that the pressure switch would trigger the pump. Thanks
    Pool: 14,000-gal IG
    Filter: Pentair Sand Dollar, Pump: Pentair Superflo VS
    Automation: Pentair EasyTouch w/ Autelis, Lighting:Globrite
    Pentair SWG IC20, Prowler 820, K-2006


  5. Back To Top    #5
    Mod Squad jblizzle's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2010
    Location
    Tucson, AZ
    Posts
    40,879

    Re: Wiring Question: Replacing old 2 Speed with new VS Pump

    Welcome to TFP!!!

    1) The green is not part of your 220V supply it is strictly the groung. "L2" is usually one of your 220 legs that is always hot. Then "L1" gets the other 220 leg for high speed -OR- "A" gets the other 220 leg for low speed.
    Jason, TFP Moderator
    18k IG pebblesheen pool, Hayward ProLogic P4 w/ T-15 SWG, Pentair 1HP 2-speed Superflo, Hayward 6020 DE filter
    500 sqft Heliocol solar panels, ThePoolCleaner, TF-100 test kit w/ SpeedStir
    Pool School + Test Kit + PoolMath = A TROUBLE FREE POOL
    If you found TFP helpful and we saved you money ... Become a TFP Supporter!

  6. Back To Top    #6

    Re: Wiring Question: Replacing old 2 Speed with new VS Pump

    Your timer should have two incoming lines and two outgoing lines. One of the outgoing lines goes goes directly to the pump and one goes to the pressure activated switch.

    The pressure activated switch has one incoming line and two outgoing lines. The pressure activated switch sends power to either high or low by connecting the incoming line to one of the outgoing lines.

    You can eliminate the pressure activated switch and just connect the two outgoing power lines from the timer to the pump.

    Connect the ground wire the same way as before.
    Support the site

    Trouble Free Pool is a free resource. The people who answer questions are volunteers. If you find the site to be a good resource, please consider making a donation to help support the site. Thanks.

  7. Back To Top    #7
    Mod Squad Jimrahbe's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2014
    Location
    Bedford, TX
    Posts
    9,297

    Re: Wiring Question: Replacing old 2 Speed with new VS Pump

    d,

    If I understand correctly, this is a SuperFlo variable speed pump.. If so, then I would recommend it have constant 220 volt input so that you can use the internal time clock to set up whatever schedule and speeds you want.

    The SuperFlo has one feature that you might want to use... It can provide a five volt output that could routed through your pressure activated switch (Assuming it is just a relay and not somehow connected to constant AC power). So you could program the pump to run a schedule and then while you are in the spa, push your air switch and the pump would go to whatever speed you have set up.

    This air switch would only allow you to select one speed, but you could still set other speeds at the pump itself.

    Thanks,

    Jim R.
    Finished in 2015 - 17K Gal, IG, 20' x 25' Almost Rectangular Pool, Pebble finish, three rockport water falls. Pentair Equipment: EasyTouch 4, IC40 SWG, 3 HP VS Pump, CCP520 Cartridge Filter.
    TF100 with SpeedStir and SampleSizer, ColorQ Pro 7, Dolphin Premier Robot Cleaner, added Screen Logic 2, added small 3 person Caldera Spa.

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •