Clear Comfort - Chlorine Free System

3monkeys

Gold Supporter
Apr 19, 2017
NW Arkansas
Even as a newbie I fully recognize the thin ice I'm treading on with this post - so please don't shoot me!!

As we're finalizing the last pieces of our upcoming build I thought we were all set on an IC60. However, a couple of acquaintances in our area just finished building pools and used the Clear Comfort system. So, I spoke to clear comfort and they claim you can go chlorine-free by creating hydroxyl radicals. I don't even know what that means or if that's even true.

I also read an earlier post that asked about an EPA registration number. They told me "All of our systems are registered devices to Section 7 of the FIFRA Act through the EPA." Again, I'm not exactly sure what that means either. I read the EPA site but was just confused. (it doesn't take much for me to be confused)

I like to idea of using the least amount of chemicals as possible but I like the idea of keeping everyone safe and healthy way more! :) We have three boys and will have several boys swimming in the pool most of the time. So, sanitation is a top-priority as who knows what will be in there with all of those boys!

Finally, as new pool owner and having never owned one before, I understand you have to have some sort of residual sanitizer in the pool for when dirty boys jump in and do whatever they do. Allegedly, this system takes care of this by the hydroxyl radicals and the need for chlorine is eliminated.

Side note: I looked at UV and after reading all of their fine print you still have to use chlorine. So, that seemed like an absolute waste of money to me which is why we settled on salt.

Sorry for the long post to ask a simple question - Is this system for real or is it just marketing hype?

Reactions: VegasOas-us