Become a TFP Supporter Pool Math Forum Rules Pool School

Thread: Odd Pool Stains

1. Back To Top    #1

Odd Pool Stains

I will admit I have been remiss in keeping up with the pool. As a pilot, I am gone a week at a time and it seems my kids don't have the time to sweep and run the vac like they have been asked. Now that we are getting ready for summer (91 here in AZ today) we want to get the pool ready to go. Here is what I am dealing with:

screen 2017-03-11 at 2.47.14 PM.jpg
    screen 2017-03-11 at 2.47.05 PM.jpg

Here are my pool water stats:

FC: 6
    CC: 0
    pH: 7.7
    TA: 80
    CH: 330
    CYA: 80
    SALT: 2800
    BORATE: 50
    TEMP: 66
    CSI: -0.41

We started with a good brushing and vacuuming, no good. I then tried to use a soft-sided plastic pool scrubber, won't make a dent in it. Since I am using a SWG, I fo not have any tabs to try as I have read elsewhere. I did read the forum post on dumping like 8 gallons of acid in the pool after shutting all the pumps, etc off but since this is a full plaster pool and that was a person with a pebbletec, I am not sure if it is a good idea.

I guess I am looking for advice as to how to go from here. I don't really want to drain the pool to cure this problem since we just drained and refilled it about 12 to 18 months ago. We are not having any issues with algae, metals, etc - just these stupid stains.

Thanks!
    33,000 Gallon, IG Plaster
    Taylor 2006 Test Kit
    Pentair Triton II TR100 Sand Filter
    Pentair IntelliFlo Pump
    AutoPilot SWG & Chemical Controller

2. Back To Top    #2

Re: Odd Pool Stains

Can you get some vitamin C tablets, put them in a sock and let them sit in the stains for 20-30mins?

You can buy a trichlor tablet for like a $1 at any Leslie's or some dichlor powder in a sock to check for algae.

Matt