While waiting for my TF-100 to come in...

aggiewonder

Gold Supporter
Feb 2, 2017
Spring, TX
...I've realized I didn't order any salt level testing supplies AND I need to update my signature to be more specific. I will work on that sig.

Full story: We just bought a used house which came with a pool which was built in 2004. I'm still learning what I can in my spare time as we are still in the middle of unboxing and honey-do's (i.e. renovating). I had a pool growing up but no where near complex as this one.

1) Do I trust the display on my Hayward AquaRite SWG that says 3200? (I'm not even 100% sure of the model number just yet. Lots to learn & notate as we were not left with much of any information whatsoever.) Or, do I need to order salt testing supplies ASAP?

2) Y'all gonna help me when I open that box when it comes in? Hopefully it will be waiting for me at home after work. I've printed out and "bindered" the Extended Test Kit Directions along with abbreviations, recommended leverls and SLAM...I think I'm worried most about color changes and the "dot" for the CYA test.

3) I haven't searched but do any of you keep an Excel spreadsheet with your "logged" test results? Or what else do you use to keep notes?

4) We did have a pool inspection...he mentioned pool's plaster will need to be redone in 3-5 years and that the coping had some etching issues. I'm wondering (based on reading lots on this website already, thank you!) what exactly the previous owners messed up or didn't pay enough attention to or their pool service messed up. I hoping the TF-100 will help with that as well. Basically the inspector said that "corrosion" is "causing" sandstone to dissolve and pit. There has been some sediment near the edges. Any concerns here? Vague, I know, but I do not have any pictures at the moment.